News Flash


Posted on: January 10, 2019

New Year Begins at Town Hall

State of the Town 2019

A New Year Begins at Town Hall

Supervisor Van Scoyoc Outlines 2018 Achievements and Progress, Goals for 2019; Board Appoints Three New Members to Town Planning Board

The 2019 new year officially began for East Hampton Town government with a January 3 organizational meeting of the Town Board.

In a “State of the Town” address, Town Supervisor Peter Van Scoyoc, at the start of his second year as supervisor, said that he is “honored and blessed to be the Supervisor of a town that comes together in support of those in need, gathers to rebuke hatred, seeks to protect its environment, and honors its history.”

Read the full text of the 2019 “State of the Town” address here: 

“We can rise to any challenge as long as we respect each other, “ Mr. Van Scoyoc said, “and work together for the common good.”

Collaborative effort during 2018 — a year that “presented many challenges,” he said — enabled the Town to tackle a number of immediate needs and to advance wide-ranging goals identified by the Supervisor at the start of his term.

From protecting and improving water quality, planning for resilience in the face of sea level rise and coastal erosion, taking concrete steps toward the town’s goal of using 100 percent renewable energy, and providing for community needs through infrastructure and facilities improvements, to planning for additional future affordable housing while getting ready to open the doors of a new affordable condo complex, immediately providing new water mains for clean drinking water in Wainscott, where wells were impacted by chemical contamination, renewing efforts to gain relief from excessive noise from aircraft using East Hampton Airport, and doubling down on installation of emergency communications towers and equipment, 2018 was a year of measurable momentum and success.

Starting his first full year as a Town Board member, David Lys was sworn in at the organizational meeting. Mr. Lys was appointed to the board in early 2018 for the remainder of Mr. Van Scoyoc’s term after he took office as Supervisor, and won a November election to remain in the seat.

Also at the annual Organizational Meeting on January 4, the Town Board made annual appointments and reappointments to staff positions and advisory committees, and to appointed boards.

The Planning Board will see three new members at its first meeting of 2019. Samuel Kramer was appointed to a seven-year term on the board, and named Planning Board chair, replacing Nancy Keeshan, whose term had expired; Sharon McCobb was appointed to fill the unexpired term, through 2020, of former board chair Job Potter; and Louis Cortese was appointed to fill the remainder of Patti Leber’s term, expiring at the end of 2022. Both Mr. Potter and Ms. Leber resigned this fall. Kathy Cunningham was appointed vice chair of the Planning Board.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Home